Chase for the Cup is Now Set

If you win at Michigan International Speedway, you have a very good chance of making the Chase for the NEXTEL Cup field. The Chase field is now set following the Chevy Rock & Roll 400 at Richmond last weekend. Here are the Chase standings: 1. Jimmie Johnson 2. Jeff Gordon 3. Tony Stewart 4. Carl Edwards 5. Kurt Busch 6. Denny Hamlin 7. Martin Truex Jr. 8. Matt Kenseth 9. Kyle Busch 10. Jeff Burton 11. Kevin Harvick 12. Clint Bowyer Since 2004 (when the Chase format began), all drivers who have won at Michigan have gone on to make the Chase field, including Carl Edwards (June Citizens Bank 400) and Kurt Busch (August 3M Performance 400) this year. The only exception was Greg Biffle, who won the 2004 August Cup race at MIS but did not make the Chase field. All seven other drivers have made the Chase (Ryan Newman-2004, Greg Biffle and Jeremy Mayfield-2005, Kasey Kahne and Matt Kenseth-2006, Carl Edwards and Kurt Busch-2007).

Related Articles

This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK