NASCAR set for Champion’s Week

Champions Week 325x325
Share:

Jimmie Johnson made history Nov. 20 at Homestead-Miami Speedway with a record-tying seventh championship in NASCAR's premier series. Just over a week removed from the accomplishment, the spirit of celebration is still going, but with a fitting change of venue.

NASCAR Champion's Week is culminating in a season-ending toast Friday night at the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards. The black-tie gala will be broadcast on NBCSN, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio beginning at 8 p.m. ET.

Comedian and talk-show host Jay Mohr will play host to the awards for the sixth time. Grammy Award-winning artist Sting headlines a collection of acts providing the musical entertainment.

Before the formal festivities, Wednesday gets the party started with a Champion's Week kick-off event at 9:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. PT, with appearances by Johnson, XFINITY Series champ Daniel Suarez and Camping World Truck Series champion Johnny Sauter. The Tony Marques Band performs at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT.

Thursday's activities open with the annual NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Awards Luncheon (2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT), where the Myers Brothers Award for outstanding contributions to the sport of stock-car racing will be handed out as well as several team and individual awards. You can watch this event on NASCAR.com.

Thursday continues with the NASCAR Victory Lap Fueled by Sunoco (5:45 p.m. ET/2:45 p.m. PT), a tire-smoking parade on the famed strip of Las Vegas Boulevard. The day's scheduled fun and games wrap at The Palms Casino Hotel with NASCAR After The Lap, a rambunctious tell-all and roast sponsored by Chevrolet, Ford and Toyota. All these events can be watched live on NASCAR.com.

Friday's NBCSN broadcast schedule opens with a special live edition of NASCAR America at 7 p.m. ET, continues with a red-carpet special at 8 p.m. ET and concludes with the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards at 9 p.m. ET. 

In addition to this event honoring the champion, the winner of the Sprint NMPA Most Popular Driver Award will be revealed. Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won the award for the past 13 seasons.

Story from www.NASCAR.com

© 2017 Michigan International Speedway

FacebookTwitterLinkedInDiggDeliciousNewsvineRedditStumbleTechnorati

ISC Track Sites